Uber has various rules about liability coverage for drivers and their vehicles, which is why having our a California Uber accident attorney on your side is so important.
Drivers are covered by a $1 million liability policy. The company also provides uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. Insurance coverage applies while the passenger is in the vehicle, and they are covered unless proven the cause of an accident that resulted in their injuries.
An Uber driver is required to have a personal auto insurance policy if using their own vehicle. The company’s coverage kicks in only when their app is in driver mode and fares are being accepted. California law has divided rideshare insurance coverage into three periods:
PERIOD 1: An active driver has opened the app and is waiting for a passenger. The company must provide coverage of $200,000 in liability insurance for a driver, $100,000 in death/personal injury coverage per incident, and $50,000 for death or personal injury per person.
PERIOD 2: The driver has accepted a request but hasn’t picked up the passenger, and is driving to their location. Commercial insurance coverage of $1 million kicks in.
PERIOD 3: The time the passenger is in the vehicle. During this period, the company must provide $1 million of uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage.